Under 19s defeated by UCD

UCD 3 (Ryan 19, Farrugia 22, Mahdy) Bray Wanderers 1 (Aherne 5)

Under 19 Elite Southern Division, Belfield Bowl, 11th March 2017

Wanderers were dealt a blow in the warm up when last seasons under 17 player of the year Ciaran Butler was ruled out due to illness. Jack Whelan started in his place with Connal Flood taking his place on the bench.

Wanderers got off to the perfect start when Shane Heffernan played in Jamie Aherne and the striker duly scored with a low shot past Kearns. Kearns made a good save to deny Aherne a second on 13 minutes by tipping his shot over for a corner.

UCD equalised on 19 minutes when Ryan ran straight though the Bray defence to score past Brown. Three minutes later, the Students were in front when Farrugia scored.

Shane Heffernan fired a shot over on 27 minutes as Wanderers tried to respond. Dylan O’Connor received a second yellow card on 30 minutes when he brought down Ryan. UCD then added a third through Mahdy just before the break.

Wanderers almost pulled a goal back on the stroke of half time when Aherne rounded Kearns only to see his goal bound shot blocked by a defender.

Despite having only ten men for the second generic synthroid levothyroxine half Wanderers tried hard in the second half as UCD sat back on their two goal advantage.

In the final minute UCD’s O’Kane struck the Bray post and Quinn fired in the rebound but was effort was ruled out by a linesmans flag.

Bray Wanderers 1 Ryan Brown; 2 Calvin Rogers (c), 5 Jack Whelan, 3 Dylan O’Connor, 4 Cian Gilson; 5 Jack Whelan, 6 Gavin Howard, 7 Luke Clucas, 8 Stephen Morley, 10 Shane Heffernan, 11 Avis Gawiyu; 9 Jamie Ahern.

Subs: 12 Connal Flood, 13 David Gilshenan (for Heffernan 72). 14 Cormac Kelly (for Clucas 66), 15 John Moorehouse (for Gawiyu 61), 16 Ross Broderick (for Whelan 77), 17 Dion Agbonze (for Aherne 61), 99 Nathan Wolohan (GK)

UCD: 1 Connor Kearns, 2 Evan Farrell, 3 Mark Dignam, 4 Joe Manley, 5 Darragh Corcorcan, 6 Andy O’Reilly, 7 Sean McDonald, 8 Jack Ryan, 9 Conor Crowley, 10 Yousef Mahdy, 11 Neil Farrugia.

Subs: 12 Luka Lovic (for Dignam 70), 13 Dylan Rowe (for Ryan 70), 14 John O’Kane (for McDonald 65), 15 Kevin Coffey (for Mahdy), 16 Finn McGowan, 17 Sean Quinn (for Farrugia 36), 18 Cian Ryan

Report: Michael Duffy