Under 14s win Shield

Conroy (og) 25 Mosneagu 75
Kealy 37
Bray Wanderers Under 14 Shield Winners 2021

U14 Shield Final

Carlisle Grounds

6 November 2021

Bray Wanderers under 14s lifted Bray’s first national underage trophy for a Bray Academy side with this win over Shelbourne.

Patrick Manning’s shot on five minutes required a save from Ireland under 15 goalkeeper Joe Collins in the Bray goal. Wanderers responded immediately when Mason Melia set up Darragh Emmett for a great chance. Shelbourne’s Dan Ring crossed from the left just past the quarter hour, but the inrushing William Smith couldn’t direct his shot on goal. Minutes later, Smith crossed again from the left only for Cian Corboy to head over.

Bray took the lead on 25 minutes when Ray Conroy turned the ball into his own net from a right-wing cross. Jack Nolan fired a long-range free kick over the bar just past the half hour mark. James Lonergan’s snapshot from the edge of the area forced Kearney into a save. Bray increased their lead on 37 minutes when Barry Kealy headed home from a Lonergan corner on the left. On the stroke of half time Darragh Emmett blazed a shot over the bar from close range.

Emmett fired a shot against the post on 46 minutes as Wanderers tried to finish off the game. Shelbourne responded and Sebastien Fravega forced Collins into a save moments later. Collins was forced to touch a low shot from Mosneagu around the post on 56 minutes. Darragh Emmet’s shot was palmed over the bar by Kearney.

Shelbourne pulled a goal back on 75 minutes when George Mosneagu’s low shot deceived Bray’s sub keeper Sam Baker. Three minutes from time, John Leonard fired a free kick over the Shelbourne bar. In the final minute, Max Colbert shot inches wide for Bray.

Bray Wanderers U14: 1 Joe Collins, 2 Max Colbert, 4 Ronan Dawson, 5 Janek Sarwinski, 7 James Lonergan, 9 Mason Melia, 10 Ethan Cheese, 14 Darragh Emmett, 15 Jack Nolan, 16 Barry Kealy, 17 Alain Kizenga. Subs (interchangeable): 3 Roddy Cotter, 6 Sam Rothwell, 8 Evan Kane, 18 John Leonard, 25 Sam Baker (Gk).

Booked: Kealy (54)

Shelbourne U14. 13 Cian Kearney, 2 Senan Bolger, 4 Evan Reilly, 5 Ray Conroy, 6 Steven Alueboselle, 7 Ben Walsh, 8 George Mosneagu, 10 William Smith, 11 Cian Corboy, 14 Dan Ring, 23 Patrick Manning. Subs 1 Max Cooke (Gk), 3 Luke Smith, 9 Sebastian Fravega, 15 Eoin Cunningham, 16 Dawid Wasowicz, 17 Aaron McGlynn.

Booked: Smith (64)

Match report: Michael Duffy

Click here to download U14 Shield Final 2021 programme