Athlone Town match report 15.03.2019

Starting X1

Bray Wanderers 0 Athlone Town 1

Carlisle Grounds, First Division, 15 March 2019

Wanderers winning run of four successive victories in all competitions from the start of the season ended abruptly against Athlone Town.

Wanderers made one change to the starting team from their last league outing with Philip Gannon returning from injury to replace Richard Purdy in central midfield.

Wanderers started well and had the visitors defending in numbers in the opening stages. Joe Doyle fired over in the 16th minute following a Bray corner. Doyle then broke free down the left wing. His cross was met at the back post by Luke Nolan who fired over the bar.

Dylan McGlade fires a shot on goal

The visitors began to come more into the game and took the lead on 31 minutes. Darren Meenan fed Dean Williams who passed onto Aaron Brilly. Brilly slotted home past Sava from just inside the area.

Five minutes into the second half Philip Gannon fired inches wide after the ball was cleared to him on the edge of the area following a McGlade corner. On 71 minutes, Richie Purdy’s free kick was brilliantly saved by Aaron Myles and the keeper reacted quickly to save the follow up shot from Dylan Barnett. The Athlone keeper, wearing a very similar colour jersey to his outfield players, was put under pressure in the closing stages as Wanderers forced a succession of corners but the visitors defended well.

In the final minute, Dean O’Halloran headed just wide following a Dylan Barnett corner.

Bray Wanderers: 1 Gabriel Sava; 22 Luke Nolan, 5 Sean Heaney, 4 Kilian Cantwell, 3 Dylan Barnett; 7 Dean O’Halloran, 6 Paul Keegan, 24 Richie Purdy, 11 Derek Daly; 10 Dylan McGlade; 9 Joe Doyle
Subs: 2 Hugh Douglas, 12 Andrew McGovern, 14 Jake Ellis (for Nolan 81), 16 Adam Hayden (gk), 17 Luka Lovic, 19 Brandon McCann, 24 Richard Purdy (for Daly 65).

Luke Nolan fires over

Athlone Town: 1 Aaron Myles; 2 Evan White, 12 Lloyd Buckley, 4 Gavin Kearney, 3 Dean Casey; 7 Darren Meenan, 8 Aaron Brilly, 10 Kealan Dillon, 24 Rhys Gorman, 11 Kaleem Simon; 9 Dean Williams
Subs: 6 Shane Dunne (for Gorman 60), 14 Dean George (for Williams 85), 15 Shane Stokes, 16 Eoghan Morgan (for Meenan 81), 20 Darcy Lawless (gk), 26 Cian Byrne, 28 Evan Pierce
Referee: Alan Patchell

Attendance: 1,021

Match Report: Michael Duffy

Photos: Peter Minogue

Paul Keegan on the attack