Doyle seals win over Waterford FC

Bray Wanderers 1 Waterford FC 0

Carlisle Grounds, Friendly, 24 July 2020

Dylan Barnett lines up a free kick

Wanderers rounded off their preparations for the return to league action next week with this win over premier division Waterford FC.

Wanderers included new signing Callum Thompson from Wolves in the starting line-up. Callum was on loan at Bohemians earlier this season. Another new signing, Sean McEvoy was included in the substitutes having joined from Irish League side Ballinamallard,

Ryan Graydon forced Brian Murphy into tipping his free kick from the left over the crossbar after just three minutes. Dean Walsh went close for the visitors on 11 minutes, heading just wide. Wanderers enjoyed plenty of possession in the opening quarter hour without creating any real chances. Matt Smith created a chance for the Blues just past the half hour but his low cross into the area evaded the inrushing forwards. Paul Keegan went close four minutes before the break when his long-range effort went just wide.

Killian Cantwell leads from the back

Wanderers took the lead on the hour mark when Murphy spilled Dylan Barnett’s long-range shot, and striker Joe Doyle pounced on the loose ball to steer it to the net. Will Longbottom saw his header glance off the Wanderers crossbar with twenty minutes remaining.

Bray Wanderers: 1 Adam Hayden, 2 John Ross Wilson, 3 Dylan Barnett, 4 Killian Cantwell, 5 Aaron Barry, 6 Paul Keegan ©, 7 Ryan Graydon, 8 Callum Thompson, 9 Joe Doyle, 10 Gary Shaw, 12 Jack Watson.

Substitutes; 30 Enda Minogue (Gk) (for Hayden, 85), 11 Derek Daly (for Graydon, h/t), 14 Tristan Noack-Hofmann (for Barry, 65), 17 Luka Lovic (for Watson, 65), 18 Sean McEvoy (for Keegan, h/t), 19 Darragh Lynch (for Shaw, 56), 22 Luke Nolan (for Wilson, 75), 23 Trialist A (for Thompson, 65), 26 Cian Maher (for Cantwell, 75), 27 Don Franklin (for Cantwell, 75), 29 Dean O’Shea (for Barnett, 75).

Covid restrictions are in place in the Carlisle.

Waterford FC: 25 Brian Murphy, 3 Tyreke Wilson, 4 Sam Bone, 8 Alistair Coote, 10 Will Longbottom, 11 Matthew Smith, 15 Dean Walsh, 18 Robert McCourt, 23 Shane Griffin, 26 Timi Sodowale, 29 Jack Connolly.

Substitutes: 1 Tadhg Ryan (Gk), 12 John Martin, 16 Darragh Power, 17 Alex Phelan (for Walsh, 24), 19 Will Fitzgerald, 22 Jack Larkin, 31 Cameron Power, 35 Niall O’Keeffe, 36 Tega Agberhiere.

Match Report: Michael Duffy

Pictures: Emmy O’Driscoll