First win for Bray/Joeys Under 17 Academy

Bray Wanderers/St. Joseph’s Boys u17 2 (Madaghijan 46, Maher 84) Cabinteely u17 0

Elite Southern Division, Carlisle Grounds, 2 April 2017.

Bray Wanderers/St. Joseph’s Boys Academy under 17s earned their first win in the Elite Southern division with this win over Cabinteely.

Aaron Byrne had the home sides first shot on goal on 22 minutes which Kelly saved easily. On 28 minutes, Cabinteely’s Massey played in Labutis but he fired over the bar for the visitors. A minute before the break, Barr fired over for the visitors from a corner.

Within a minute of the restart, the home side took the lead. Daniel Madaghijan fired home from long distance. Nevin then made two great saves, within a minute, to deny the visitors an equalizer. Firstly, on 52 minutes, he saved from O’Neill and a minute later saved from Browne who had broken through on the left.

On 59 minutes, Nevin was forced to make another save, this time from a Labutus shot. Four minutes later, Sean O’Brien’s shot was parried out for a corner by the Cabinteely keeper. On 65 minutes, a corner from Crilly on the right was headed back by Ellis and Madaghijan generic equivalent of synthroid headed over. Evan Dunne fired over on 69 minutes for the home side.

Kelly was forced into saving a shot from Ellis on 85 minutes when he pushed the ball out for a corner. Cian Maher secured victory for the Academy side when he headed home six minutes from time.

Bray Wanderers 1 Alex Nevin, 2 Max Murphy, 3 Jamie Crilly, 4 Cian Maher, 5 Cian Walsh, 6 Aaron Hennessy, 7 Byron O’Gorman, 8 Daniel Madaghjian, 9 Eoin Darcy, 10 Sean O’Brien, 11 Aaron Byrne. Subs: 12 Liam Moore (for Hennessy 91), 13 Evan Dunne (for Darcy 53), 14 Jake Ellis (for O’Gorman h/t), 15 Aaron Hogan,16 Conor Dowling, 17 Glen Hollywood. 25 Dylan Davis (gk).

Cabinteely: 1 Jack Kelly, 2 Eoin Massey, 3 Eric Browne, 4 Andrew Egan, 5 Evan Caulfield, 6 Niall Barr, 7 Kian Bolger, 8 Dylan Bermingham, 9 Vilius Labutis, 10 Zak O’Neill, 11 Cian Kelly. Subs; 12 Ben White (for Browne 80), 13 Mark Soner , 14 Sean McCann (for Bermingham 65), 15 Lewis O’Neill, 16 Clayton Walsh (for Kelly 75), 17 Jack Maguire (for Bolger 65), 25 Peter Quinlan.

Match Report: Michael Duffy