Galway end Wanderers promotion hopes

Bray Wanderers 0 Galway United 1

Carlisle Grounds, Promotion Play off semi-final, 31 October 2020

Bray Wanderers season ended in disappointment with this play off defeat at the hands of Galway United. Wilson Waweru’s late strike proved decisive in a game which was Wanderers third successive 1-0 home defeat of the season.

John Ross Wilson on the attack

Bray made one change to the starting team from their last game against Athlone Town with Joe Doyle starting in place of Gary Shaw.

Brian Maher produced a stunning save after just seven minutes to save from Enda Curran’s volley. Callum Thompson fires an effort over the Galway bar on the quarter hour. Two minutes later, Derek Daly cut in from the right and forced Schlingermann into pitting his low shot around the post.

Killian Brouder went close for the visitors four minutes into the second half when his volley went just wide of the post.  On the hour mark, Callum Thompson got in on the bye line and his cross was headed just wide by Joe Doyle. Sean McEvoy fired a shot off the post from just outside the box on 69 minutes. Jack Lynch then fires a shot off the Bray bar with a quarter hour remaining.

With eight minutes remaining, Waweru was closest to react to a loose ball in the Wanderers area and he scored past Maher from close range.

Sean McEvoy’s shot rebounds off the Galway post

John Ross Wilson fired a long range shot which Schlingermann saved. Wanderers forced a few late corners but were unable to test Schlingermann and the visitors held out for victory.

Bray Wanderers: 25 Brian Maher, 2 John Ross Wilson, 3 Dylan Barnett, 4 Killian Cantwell, 5 Aaron Barry, 6 Paul Keegan, 7 Ryan Graydon, 8 Callum Thompson, 9 Joe Doyle, 18 Sean McEvoy, 11 Derek Daly.

Substitutes; 1 Adam Hayden (Gk), 10 Gary Shaw (for Doyle, 84), 12 Jack Watson, 14 Noack-Hofmann, 19 Darragh Lynch (for Daly, 84), 26 Cian Maher, 27 Marlon Marishta.

Galway United: 16 Michael Schlingermann; 2 Jack Lynch, 3 Marc Ludden, 5 Killian Brouder  6 Maurice Nugent; 11 Shane Doherty, 8 Shane Duggan, 7 Timmy Molloy, 12 Stephen Christopher, 27 Sam Warde; 14 Enda Curran.

Substitutes:  1 Kevin Horgan (Gk), 9 Mikey Place (for Molloy, 56), 10 Conor Barry, 19 Francely Lomboto, 21 Christopher Horgan, 28 Wilson Waweru (for Curran, 56), 29 Vinny Faherty,

Ryan Graydon on the attack

Booked: Christopher (79)

Referee: Eoghan O’Shea

Match Report: Michael Duffy

Pictures: Peter Minogue

Paul Keegan sets up an attack