Match Report – Bray Wanderers 2 Cobh Ramblers 2

Bray Wanderers 2 Cobh Ramblers 2

Bray’s search for a first home win of the 2024 SSE Airtricity First Division season continued as Cobh snatched a point with virtually the last kick of the game.

Just as it seem the hosts would claim their first home win of the 2024 SSE Airtricity First Division season to move above opponents in the table, the Ramblers striker scored a 94th minute volley to make it 2-2 when controlling Brendan Frahill’s header 15-yards out.

Wanderers had dominated possession and had the better of the exchanges as the Munster outfit soaked up pressure and hit back on the break.

Cole Omorehiomwan’s 67th minute score seemed to set the Wicklow side for all three points on Friday evening at the Carlisle Grounds.

Shane Griffin whipped in a free wide left right footed for the Green and White’s. Unmarked, Omorehiomwan lost his marker to divert the ball to the net close in.

Having drawn 1-1 with Longford Town last Monday at the same venue, the Seagulls made seven changes to their line-up.

Goalkeeper Stephen McGuinness made his first league appearance of the 2024 campaign. Thomas Morgan made his full league debut upfront while Conor Knight made his first appearance in all competitions this year.

Freddie Turley returned after Irish U19 duty. He joined Omorehiomwan, Kieran Cruise and Peter Grogan in the first XI.

On the bench, custodian Ben Clarke came in as did midfielder Zayd Abada along with attacker Josh McGlone.

There was a first call up to the senior panel to 16-year-old Rhys Knight amongst the substitutes.

Two of those new starting inclusions worked the trick to give Wanderers a 20th minute lead.

Grogan got to the left byline. His cross took a deflection. And dropped to the back stick were Conor Knight looped in a header from ten yards.

Somewhat against the run of play, the visitors equalised in first half stoppage time.

From netminder Darragh Burke’s long punt form his box, McKevitt was a race to the ball ahead of home goalkeeper Stephen McGuinness, and Omorehiomwan, off the right flank to loft towards an open goal with the ball hitting the far post and crossing the line.

Bray Wanderers: Stephen McGuinness; Freddie Turley, Kilian Cantwell, Cole Omorehiomwan (Paul Murphy 84), Zach Nolan; Conor Knight (Alan Kizenga 73), Harry Groome, Shane Griffin, Kieran Cruise; Peter Grogan (Daniel Chukwu 84), Thomas Morgan (Guillermo Almirall 81).

Subs not used: Evan Osam, Zayd Abada, Josh McGlone, Rhys Knight, Ben Clark.

Booked: Omorehiomwan 24, Griffin 90 + 1, Chukwu 90 + 1.

Cobh Ramblers: Darragh Burke; Dean Larkin, Brendan Frahill, Cian Browne; Laim Kervick (Charlie O’Brien 39), Dan McKay (David Bosnjak 64), Dale Holland, James O’Leary; Jack Larkin; Beineon O’Brien Whitmarsh (David Eguaibor 85), Matthew McKevitt.

Subs not used: Justin Eguaibor, Alessandro DeSanctis, Dan Ryan, Luka Le Berve, Cathal O’Hanlon.

Booked: Holland 28, Jack Larkin 90 + 2.

Referee: Oliver Moran.

Pictures: Mick Hanney (Bray Camera Club).

Mint Plus Man of the Match: Harry Groome.