SJ.B Academy u17s defeat Bohemians in cup

SJ.B Academy u17 2 Bohemians u17 1
Mark Farren Cup First round, The Academy Grounds, Carrickmines. 30.05.2018

The SJ.B under 17s advanced to the second round of the Mark Farren cup with victory over Bohemians u17s in a very competitive game.

The visitors went close on 12 minutes when Dawson Devoy forced Enda Minogue into a save from a free kick. Minogue saved again on 22 minutes, this time from Moylan. The home side took the lead on 27 minutes. Aaron Rice crossed from the right and Precious Omochere headed past Cleary. Bohemians equalised on 41 minutes. After the home side lost possession, Liam McGrath was played in and he slotted low past Minogue.

The visitors spurned a great chance to take the lead on 72 minutes. Moylan’s free kick on the right was spilled by Minogue and McGrath put the loose ball over the top of the crossbar. Jake Ellis broke free down the right on 74 minutes and was brought down inside the area. Daniel Madaghjian duly converted the resultant spot kick.

Ellis broke clear again three minutes later, but Cleary was out quick to smother the shot. Bohemians had another chance on 79 minutes when Jack Cleary’s free kick on the right came back off the post. Substitute Nikolay Borowiec almost added a third for the home side a minute after his introduction. He broke free on the left and from a tight angle could only find the side netting.

SJ. B Academy under 17 team v Bohemians: 1 Enda Minogue, 4 Alex Rafferty, 5 Cian Walsh, 6 Aaron Rice, 7 Steven Sweeney, 10 Daniel Madaghjian, 11 Conor Dowling, 12 Evan Dunne, 16 Precious Omochere. 14 Jake Ellis, 19 Byron O’Gorman. Subs: 2 Cian Maher, 3 Jamie Crilly (for Rice 30m), 8 Glen Hollywood, 13 Panit O’Keeffe (for Ellis 80m), 15 Callum Perry, 17 Nikolay Borowiec (for Omochere 86m)

Bohemians u17: 1 Jamie Cleary, 2 Jack Funge, 3 Jack Casey, 4 Warren Curran, 5 Lewis Kilkenny, 6 Sean McManus, 7 Thomas Considine, 8 Francky Haba, 9 Liam McGrath, 10 Dawson Devoy, 11 Jack Moylan. Subs: 12 Denis Robu (for Haba 88m), 13 Ross Tierney (for Funge 69m), 14 Sobe Nwaokolo (for Moylan 80m), 15 Paddy Moore, 16 Gavin Molloy. 20 Kian Clarke.

Match report: Michael Duffy