U15 Match Report – Bray Wanderers 0 Shamrock Rovers 4

Bray Wanderers 0 Shamrock Rovers 4

Bray were left to rue missed chances as they went down to EA SPORTS MU15 LOI Academy Group B winners Shamrock Rovers.

The Hoops maintained their 100% record in the final game of the section thanks to two goals in three minutes in the middle period on Sunday morning at Ballycorus.

The away team had no less than six Republic of Ireland U15 internationals in their starting 11.

But it was another player – Charles Akimrintoyo – who stole the show with a hat-trick.

His superb solo effort – after collecting a Thomas Vieira pass in the 21st minute broke the dead-lock.

When the two teams met on the opening day of the season last February, the Hoops won 5-1 at Roadstone.

But the Seagulls had the opportunity to equalise in the 27th minute.

Billy O’Neill was clipped when breaking into the penalty area. But the striker put the 12-yard dead-ball over the crossbar.

The Dubliner’s doubled their lead in the 40th minute, as Akimrintoyo turned provider to set-up Goodness Ogbonna whose low deflected effort found the net.

The home side contributed to the away third score in the 42nd minute. A miss-placed pass straight to the unmarked Akimrintoyo who finished close in.

Wanderers had the chance to reduce the deficit in the 54th minute. But Alex Noonan superbly denied Cristiano Bramley one on one.

Wanderers netminder Alex Forde pulled off fantastic saves to thwart Akimrintoyo (65), Brody Lee (76) and sub Leon McLaren (79).

But Akimrintoyo completed his treble in the 83rd minute when finishing off Bailey Shelley’s left-wing cross.   

Elsewhere in the section, Bohemians drew 3-3 with Dundalk at Oscar Traynor Road while Klub Kildare beat Drogheda United 7-2 at the MDL Grounds.

All the results mean Bray finish fourth in the section.

Bray Wanderers: Alex Forde; Max Free, Callum Kenna, Noah Byrne, Evan Lynch; Joshua O’Leary, Sean Howard; Sean Hennelly, Cristiano Bramley, Adam Keene; Billy O’Neill.

Subs: Ryan Bell Mihaila, Jake Fulton, Darragh Sherlock, Tadhg Worthington, Kai McSwiggan

Shamrock Rovers: Alex Noonan; Thomas Vieira, Oisin McDonagh, Bailey Shelley; Harry Murray, Muhammad Oladiti; Maxim Kovalevskis, Goodness Ogbonna, Cian Kenna; Brody Lee, Charles Akimrintoyo.

Subs: Leon McLaren, Conor Lougheed, Sean McDonald, John Donohue.

Referee: Ruben Collins (Wicklow).