U17s defeated in Shield semi final

SJ.B Academy u17 0 Cabinteely u17 0 (after extra time). Cabinteely won 5-4 on penalties.

Under 17 Shield Semi Final, Carlisle Grounds, 24 October 2017.

Cabinteely advanced to the final of the under 17 Shield competition with victory on penalties. Alex Nevin was forced into a save from a Zak O’Neill shot after eight minutes. The home side responded when Byron O’Gorman shot across the goal after been set up by Jake Ellis on 27 minutes. The home side almost took the lead on 32 minutes. Quinlan saved initially from O’Gorman and Daniel Madaghjian’s follow up was deflected over the bar for a corner.

Nevin then saved from Villus Labutis on 39 minutes. Jake Ellis came closest to scoring in the second period, firing over the crossbar when well placed in the 81st minute.

Extra time failed to separate the teams so a penalty shootout was required. Ellis scored for the SJ.B Academy before Nevin saved O’Neill’s spot kick. The referee adjudged the keeper was off his line and O’Neill scored the re-take. Darcy (SJ.B) and Caulfield (Cabo) both converted before Byrne’s (SJ.B) penalty was saved by Quinlan.

The next four penalties were all converted by Velly & Olejubi for Cabinteely and Horgan and Madaghjian (SJ.B) to leave Labutis with the chance to win the game for Cabinteely. He blasted his spot kick over the bar. Sudden death saw Moore miss for the home side and Jack Maguire then converted to win the game for the visitors.

Bray Wanderers/St. Joseph’s Boys U17: Alex Nevin, Liam Moore, Conor Dowling, Cian Walsh, Jake Byrne, Evan Dunne, Cian Maher, Glen Hollywood, Jake Ellis, Byron O’Gorman, Shane Flynn.

Subs: Aaron Byrne (for Dowling 101), Aran Horgan (for Flynn 79), Aaron Hennessy (for O’Gorman 56), Eoin Darcy (for Dunne 55), Daniel Madaghjian (for Hollywood 28), Darragh Kelly, Dylan Davis (GK),

Cabinteely u17: Peter Quinlan, Eoin Massey, Mark Soper, Andrew Egan, Evan Caulfield, Dylan Bermingham, Cian McKenna, Villus Labutis, Clayton Walsh, Zak O’Neill, Kian Bolger.

Subs: Cian Velly (for Egan 88), Josh Olejubi (for Walsh 65), Andy Byrne (for Bermingham h/t), Niall Barr (for Byrne 110), Lewis O’Neill, Jack Maguire (for Bolger 71), Joe Hyland.


Match Report: Michael Duffy