U19 Match Report – Bray Wanderers 1 Dundalk 4

Bray Wanderers 1 Dundalk 4

Bray’s five game winning streak came to an end when they suffered an U19 LOI Academy League Tier 2 (North) loss to leaders Dundalk.
In a match moved from Ballycorus to the all-weather at the Woodlands in Greystones on Sunday afternoon, Wanderers led 1-0 at the interval.
But the visitors scored four unanswered goals after the interval.
In truth though, the Seasiders were left to rue missed chances to add to their lead while injuries to captain Ben Clarke (32 minutes) in the middle of the park, and central defender Caleb O’Neill in the 55th minute hampered matters.
Wanderers took a 24th minute lead. Hayden Roche’s left wing cross into the box wasn’t cleared. It fell to fellow full-back Zach Nolan who teed up Daniel Chukwu to fire in a brilliant 20-yard shot.
The Wicklow club missed a gilt edge opportunity to double that lead five minutes after the turnaround.
Roland Olakanye skipped along the left flank and got to the byline to put the ball across goal. Substitute Thomas Morgan side-footed close in but away custodian Sean Molloy blocked on the goal-line.
Seven minutes later and the Lilywhite’s were level when Josh Hand shot in low from the edge of the box.
After Chukwu blasted wide from 20-yards on 68, the visitors went 2-1 up though Conor O’Gorman two minutes later
After a quick 76th minute free, Jack Kehoe whipped in a cross from the right. Morgan got a close range glancing header which dropped into Molloy’s grateful arms.
Anthony Mayo made it 3-1 with a fantastic 25-yard 85th minute free-kick.
The same player was fouled in the box in the 87th minute with Oisin Coleman converting the penalty.
Elsewhere in the section, Sligo Rovers defeated Longford Town 3-2 while Finn Harps beat Derry City 3-1.
The results leaves Dundalk on top with 15 points at the halfway point of six games. Sligo are second on 13 points with Bray third on 12 points.

Bray Wanderers: Jack Ross; Zach Nolan, Caleb O’Neill, Leon Ajala, Hayden Roche; Jack Kehoe, Ben Clarke; Daniel Chukwu; Alex Nolan, Roland Olakanye; Lewis Jacobs.
Subs: Thomas Morgan, Luca Mulhare, Brent Culbert, Harry Sherlock, Paddy Kildee-Doolan, Jamie Molloy

Dundalk: Sean Molloy; Jack Watters, Mayowa Animasahun, Ben Carroll, Jake Hough; Oisin Coleman; Anthony Mayo, Senan Mullen, Robert Benson, Josh Hand; Callum Bonner.
Subs: Ryan Boyle, Mark Leavy, Conor O’Gorman, Cian Bolger, Scott Brady, Hugh Smith, Samuel Case, Samuel Safaei.

Referee: Mark Patchell. Assistants: Niall McLoughlin, Phillip Harrison.

* The two teams are due to meet again next Sunday (August 27) at Ballycorus. This time, it will be in the Quarter Finals of the Enda McGuill Cup.