Under 17s defeat Drogheda

Bray Wanderers 3

Drogheda United 1

Under 17 squad v. Drogheda

A superb second half rally saw Bray claim their first EA Sports National Underage U17 win of the new season.

Trailing 1-0 at the break on Saturday afternoon in the Group C fixture at Berryfield Park, the young Seagulls hit three unanswered scores to overcome a spirited Drogheda side.

Wanderers were left to rue a series of missed chances in the opening period. But finally made their opportunities count as the rain lashed down after the interval.

Having succumbed 3-1 away to Shelbourne in the teams first match last week, Wanderers went close with Max Mason being denied by away custodian Finn Moore on 11 and 20 while in between, Jake Murray headed narrowly wide (15).

United – who had drawn 1-1 with Shamrock Rovers in their first outing – took the lead somewhat against the run of play.

A 29th minute corner from the right flank was whipped in left footed. It went deep to the back post where Tadgh Dunne rose and guided a header back across goal that dropped under the bar.

Early in the second half, host netminder Samuel Safaei made two parried saves to thwart the Boynesiders.

Then Daniel Chukwu almost capitalised on hesitancy in the away defence on 50. But poked wide as the goal gaped.

Just after the hour, that pressure was made to count. Joshua Kerr’s cracking in-swinging corner was powered in by Mason’s thunderous front post header.

The turnaround was completed in the 63rd minute. Substitute Conor O’Gorman’s centre left to right picked out Chukwu inside the penalty area. He then guided a close range effort that bobbled to the net.

Right on full time of normal time, substitute Lewis Jacobs swung in a corner from the left wing right footed. Aided by the elements, the ball curled towards goal and took a deflection off a Drogheda player on its way to the net.


Bray Wanderers: Samuel Safaei; Matthew Anderson, Zach Nolan, Callum Goud, Luke Nolan; Max Hennessy, Jake Murray, Joshua Kerr; Daniel Chukwu, Max Mason, Eoghan O’Hanlon.

Subs: Caleb O’Neill, Jamie Molloy, Lewis Jacobs, Harry Sherlock, Conor O’Gorman, Dylan Ryan, David Monaghan.