Wanderers defeat Drogheda

Bray Wanderers 2 (Greene 3, Connolly 20), Drogheda United 1 (McGuigan 22)
Premier Division, Carlisle Grounds, 13 March 2017.

Bray Wanderers stretched their unbeaten home run to 12 games with this win over Drogheda United.

In the opening minutes, debutant, Ryan Robinson was penalised for a heavey challenge just outside the Bray area. From the resulting free kick Peter Cherrie could only parry McCaffrey’s free, and Jake Hyland knocked the ball past him but Conor McKenna was on hand to clear off the line.

On three minutes Aaron Greene cut in from the right and drove a low shot past Stephen McGuinness at his near post. Dylan Connolly took advantage of a shot Drogheda kick out when Greene fed him and he duly lobbed the outrushing McGuinness into the empty net for his third goal in three games.

The visitors’ responded with immediately from the kick off with a corner. Griffin found McGuigan at the back post and he shot into the top corner.

Bray forced a string of corners either side of the break as they tried to restore their two goal advantage.

Just on the hour, Marc generic synthroid side effects Griffin and McCaffrey both had chances for the visitors, but only the second needed attention by Cherrie.

Former Wanderer, Luke Gallagher received a second yellow card for a foul on Connolly on 63 minutes. Despite playing with ten men Drogheda caused problems. Byrne forced Cherrie into a save at his near post as they search for an equaliser. Connolly found himself with a one on one against McGuinness but the former Bray keeper forced him wide and the danger was averted.

Bray Wanderers: Peter Cherrie; Ryan Robinson, Derek Foran, Conor Kenna, Kevin Lynch; Keith Buckley, John Sullivan; Dylan Connolly, Gary McCabe, Aaron Greene; Anthony Flood.
Subs: Ryan Brennan (for McCabe 78), Mark Salmon (for Buckley 67), Conor Earley (for Robinson 63), Jamie Aherne, Tim Clancy, Darragh Noone, Lee Steacy.

Drogheda United: Stephen McGuinness; Colm Deasy, Luke Gallagher, Ciaran McGuigan, Conor Kane; Gareth McCaffrey, Jake Hyland, Seán Brennan, Ryan McEvoy, Adam Wixted; Marc Griffin.
Subs: Stephen Dunne, Lloyd Buckley (for Wixted 64), Seán Thornton (for Brennan 74), Thomas Byrne (for McCaffrey 71), Jamie Hollywood, Dylan Sweeney, Shane Elworthy.

Referee: Neil Doyle

Attendance: 638

Report: Michael Duffy