Wanderers defeated by Cabinteely

Cabinteely FC 2 Bray Wanderers 1

Stradbrook, First Division, 5 July 2019

Dean Williams (centre) – debutant

Wanderers hopes of reaching the First division promotion play offs suffered a serious setback with this defeat against Cabinteely.

Bray made three changes to the starting team from last week’s defeat away to Drogheda United. Hugh Douglas returned from suspension while Richard Purdy and new on loan signing from Shamrock Rovers Dean Williams started in place of Philip Gannon, Dylan McGlade and Dean O’Halloran (who has returned to his parent club Waterford FC after his loan spell with Wanderers).

Wanderers started well but Cabinteely went close on nine minutes when Robert Manley‘s header came off the bar with Sava gathering on the line. Wanderers responded with Joe Doyle heading over from a Dylan Barnett cross from the left.

The home side took the lead on the quarter hour. Ex-Wanderer Marty Waters was allowed to cross from the right and Paul Fox rifled a shot to the net giving Sava no chance. Dean Williams was played in by Derek Daly on 28 minutes, but McGuinness saved well. Two minutes later, Joe Doyle shot over after been set up by Daly. McGuinness saved again from a Doyle header at the near post on 38 minutes. Three minutes later, McGuinness dived full length to turn a Williams shot out for a corner.

Jack Watson fired a shot off the Wanderers crossbar on 54 minutes. Paul Keegan went close with two chances in succession on 71 minutes. Firstly, McGuinness saved and then Keegan put the follow up wide.

Wanderers deservedly equalised on 75 minutes. Substitute Dylan McGlade was played in and he rounded McGuinness before scoring. On 81 minutes, substitute Sasaki turned three Bray defenders in the area before firing to the net beyond Sava. Dylan McGlade forced a brilliant save from McGuinness on 85 minutes as Wanderers searched for an equaliser.

Bray Wanderers: 1 Gabriel Sava; 5 Sean Heaney, 15 Darragh Gibbons, 2 Hugh Douglas, 4 Kilian Cantwell; 3 Dylan Barnett, 24 Richie Purdy, 6 Paul Keegan, 11 Derek Daly, 18 Dean Williams, 9 Joe Doyle.
Subs: 8 Philip Gannon (for Gibbons 29), 10 Dylan McGlade (for Purdy 65), 16 Adam Hayden (gk), 17 Luka Lovic, 19 Brandon McCann, 20 Dylan Thornton, 22 Luke Nolan

Cabinteely FC: Stephen McGuinness; 5 Conor Keeley, 3 Kevin Knight, 15 Eoin Massey, 4 Jack Tuite, 7 Keith Dalton, 11 Paul Fox, 17 Zak O’Neill, 6 Jack Watson, 8 Rob Manley, 10 Kieran ‘Marty’ Waters
Subs: 9 Luke Clucas (for Dalton 84), 14 Shane Barnes (for Manley 84), 22 Sean Fitzpatrick, 30 Kieran Butler, 35 Benjamin Clarke (gk), 39 Yuta Sasaki (for Waters 72), 40 Christian Lotefa

Referee: Eoghan O’Shea

Match Report: Michael Duffy