Wanderers go top after late Wexford win

Wexford FC 1 Bray Wanderers 3

Ferrycarrig Park, First Division, 11 September 2020

Bray Wanderers produced their own version of the Late Late show on Friday evening with three goals in the final five minutes plus two added minutes to come from behind and defeat Wexford FC.

 Wanderers made two changes to the starting team from Monday’s win over Athlone Town. Sean McEvoy and Aaron Barry came in instead of Jack Watson and Tristan Noack Hoffman. Paul Keegan returned to the bench after his recent two match suspension for a sending off against Finn Harps,

Derek Daly had the first chance of the game after five minutes but his header from a Barnet cross was easily gathered by Murphy. Wexford had a great chance on 12 minutes when Yussuf ran clear of the Bray defence but blazed over with just Maher to beat.

Ryan Graydon fired just wide of the post for Wanderers on 18 minutes.  Wexford took the lead on 24 minutes when Karl Fitzsimons slotted past Maher from just inside the area.

Tom Murphy produced a brilliant save to deny Derek Daly at the back post on 51 minutes. Wanderers enjoyed plenty of possession without any luck around the area until Dylan Barnett was brought down in the area by Yussuf five minutes from time. Gary Shaw blasted the resultant penalty past Murphy. Two minutes later, Darragh Lynch controlled the ball and played it out wide to Thompson on the right. Thompson beat a defender and whipped in a cross which was headed to the net by Sean McEvoy to put Wanderers ahead. Two goals in two minutes for Wanderers.

Wexford pressed for an equaliser but were caught by a counter-attack from Wanderers. Darragh Lynch picked up the ball just inside the Wexford half and ran through before firing a low shot to the corner of the net to clinch a remarkable win for Wanderers.

Wanderers have now scored three goals in each of their last three league games.

Wexford FC: 1 Tom Murphy, 2 Karl Fitzsimons, 3 Craig Giles, 4 James Carroll, 5 Dan Tobin, 6 Conor Crowley, 7 Azeez Yussuf, 10 Jack Doherty, 17 Jack Larkin, 19 Charlie Smith, 25 Jay Nwanze.

Substitutes: 22 Jack Lydon, 14 Patrick O’Sullivan (for Larkin, 86), 15 Kristan Crawford, 20 Malike Hill Benrouguibi, 21 Liam Berry, 24 Kevin McEvoy, 28 Murphy

Booked: Doherty (52), Yussuf (84)

Bray Wanderers: 25 Brian Maher, 2 John Ross Wilson, 3 Dylan Barnett, 4 Killian Cantwell, 5 Aaron Barry, 7 Ryan Graydon, 8 Callum Thompson, 11 Derek Daly, 18 Sean McEvoy, 17 Luka Lovic, 18 Sean McEvoy, 10 Gary Shaw.

Substitutes; 30 Enda Minogue (Gk), 6 Paul Keegan (for Lovic, 68), 12 Jack Watson (for McEvoy, 90), 14 Noack-Hofmann, 17 Darragh Lynch (for Daly, 680 24 Glen Hollywood, 26 Cian Maher

Booked: Cantwell (81)

Match Report: Michael Duffy