Wanderers return to winning ways

Bray Wanderers 1 Limerick FC 0

Carlisle Grounds, First Division, 12 July 2019

Wanderers kept alive their hopes of reaching the First division promotion play offs with this deserved win over Limerick despite playing almost the whole of the second half with ten men after Killian Cantwell’s red card.

Bray made two changes to the starting team from last week’s defeat away to Cabinteely FC. Dylan McGlade and Philip Gannon started in place of Darragh Gibbons and Joe Doyle who has emigrated to the USA.

Killian Cantwell received a yellow card after just 6 minutes when he brought down Lee Devitt. Richie Purdy forced Brady into a save on 12 minutes. Wanderers almost took the lead on in the 21st minute when Dylan Barnett’s shot came back off the post. Wanderers had plenty of possession and Dylan McGlade went close on 42 minutes, firing a shot just over the crossbar. McGlade then forced Brady into saving with his feet on the stroke of half time.

A minute later, McGlade got in on the left side of the area and was bundled over inside the area. Paul Keegan drove the resulting spot kick straight down the middle to give Wanderers a deserved lead.

Five minutes into the second half, Tomas O’Connor went on a run and was shoved over on the edge of the area by Cantwell who duly received his marching orders for a second yellow card. Philip Gannon dropped back into the right full position as Wanderers re-organised.

On 62 minutes, Sean Heaney headed to the net following a Barnett corner on the right. Wanderers joy was short lived as referee Grant ruled the goal out for an apparent shove. McGlade forced Brady into another save with five minutes remaining. Limerick offered little as an attacking team even with an extra man and Sava’s goal was never threatened as Wanderers returned to winning to keep alive their hopes of a play-off position.

Bray Wanderers: 1 Gabriel Sava; 2 Hugh Douglas, 5 Sean Heaney, 4 Kilian Cantwell; 3 Dylan Barnett, 24 Richie Purdy, 6 Paul Keegan, 8 Philip Gannon, 11 Derek Daly, 18 Dean Williams. 10 Dylan McGlade.  Subs:14 Jake Ellis (for Purdy 72), 15 Darragh Gibbons (for Daly 74), 16 Adam Hayden (gk), 17 Luka Lovic, 19 Brandon McCann (for Williams 86), 20 Dylan Thornton, 22 Luke Nolan

Limerick FC: 1 Jack Brady; 2 Shaun Kelly, 15 Tomas O’Connor, 6 Robert Williams, 11 Shane Tracy; 22 Karl O’Sullivan, 24 Darren Murphy, 21 Clyde O’Connell, 12 Lee Devitt; 8 Jason Hughes; 9 Kieran Hanlon
Subs: 16 Edmond O’Dwyer (for Murphy 14), 17 Andy Quaid, 19 Ger Barry (for O’Dwyer 84), 20 Callan Scully, 25 Sean Madigan, 28 Adam Foley (for Hanlon 69), 29 Alan Murphy

Referee: David Dunne

Match Report: Michael Duffy

Attendance: 644