Wexford FC match report 24.05.2019

Bray Wanderers 2 Wexford FC 1

Carlisle Grounds, First Division, 24 May 2019

Two quick fire goals within two minutes in the second half from Derek Daly earned Wanderers their third successive league win despite a late scare from the visitors.

Mindful of a busy period, Wanderers made three changes to the starting line up from the team that defeated Galway FC the previous Monday. Sean Heaney, Derek Daly and Jake Ellis all started in place of Hugh Douglas, Dylan McGlade and Joe Doyle.

Bray started well and Jake Ellis fired into the side netting on ten minutes. Five minutes later, Philip Gannon’s header from a corner was brilliantly tipped over by former Wanderers underage player Corey Chambers. Two minutes later, Chambers saved from Daly after good build up play from Richie Purdy. Wanderers forced a succession of corners which were dealt with by the Wexford defence.

The second half started with plenty of possession for Wanderers, but Wexford were well organised at the back and chances were limited. The breakthrough eventually came on 59 minutes. Paul Keegan found Daly unmarked on the right and he lobbed the advancing Chambers to open the scoring.

Two minutes later, Dean O’Halloran’s cross from the right found Daly at the back post and he fired past Chambers for his second goal of the evening. Daly then played in McGlade who beat two men before forcing Chambers to block his goal bound shot.

McGlade then found himself one-on-one with Chambers, but after rounding the keeper he could only fire into the side netting. Wexford pulled a goal back on 69 minutes. Wanderers failed to clear the ball in their left corner and Danny Doyle crossed low where Danny Furlong flicked the ball past Sava.

Derek Daly was denied a hat trick when his free kick on the right struck the crossbar. Wanderers had a late scare in the final minute from a Wexford corner but managed to clear the danger.

Bray Wanderers: 1 Gabriel Sava; 22 Luke Nolan, 5 Sean Heaney, 4 Kilian Cantwell, 3 Dylan Barnett; 7 Dean O’Halloran, 6 Paul Keegan, 8 Philip Gannon, 24 Richie Purdy; 14 Jake Ellis, 11 Derek Daly.
Subs: 2 Hugh Douglas, 9 Joe Doyle (for Purdy 84), 10 Dylan McGlade (for Ellis 59), 12 Andrew McGovern, 16 Adam Hayden (gk), 17 Luka Lovic, 19 Brandon McCann

Wexford FC: 22 Corey Chambers; 3 Lee Costello, 20 Sean Callan, 8 Paddy Cahill, 15 Thomas Croke, 10 Jack Doherty, 6 Chris Kenny, 12 Danny Doyle, 9 Danny Furlong, 13 Ryan Nolan, 11 Emmet Nugent
Subs: 7 Nika Arevadze (for Costello 64), 14 Sean Roche, 17 Andrew Farrell, 18 Jason McGuire (gk, for Chambers 86), 24 Darragh O’Connor (for Nolan 69)

Referee: Adriano Reale

Match Report: Michael Duffy

Attendance; 634