Wanderers no match for Shelbourne

Bray Wanderers 1 (Clifford, 16 (p)

Shelbourne 4 (M.O’Connor 11(p), Brennan (34 & 64), Gilchrist 87)

Carlisle Grounds, First Division, 11 June 2021

Brandon Kavanagh on the wing

Shelbourne extended their lead at the top of the First division to eight points with a comfortable win over Wanderers who produced their poorest display of the season so far.

Wanderers made two changes to the starting team from the one that was defeated by Treaty United a fortnight ago. Gary Shaw and Darren Craven started in place of Joe Doyle & Steven Kinsella.

Ryan Brennan should have given the visitors the lead inside two minutes, but the ex-Wanderer blazed over from close range. The sides then exchanged penalties inside the opening quarter of an hour. Aaron Barry brought down Shane Farrell inside the area and Michael O’Connor scored from the resulting spot kick despite Brian Maher getting a hand to it.

Wanderers responded and Conor Clifford converted a penalty. Wanderers had some good spells after equalising with Richie O’Farrell and Darren Craven both having shots on goal without really testing Brendan Clarke.  Shelbourne re-took the lead when Brennan headed home from a Kevin O’Connor pass on 38 minutes.

Wanderers started the second half well without creating any clear-cut chances. Shelbourne were awarded a penalty on 64 minutes for handball which Ryan Brennan converted. Shelbourne sealed victory three minutes from time when Ally Gilchrist scored from close range from a Poynton corner kick.

Conor Clifford in action

Bray Wanderers: 1 Brian Maher; 8 Mark Byrne, 3 Dylan Barnett, 4 Andrew Quinn, 5 Aaron Barry; 6 Conor Clifford, 7 Ryan Graydon, 14 Richie O’Farrell, 11 Brandon Kavanagh; 10 Gary Shaw, 16 Darren Craven.

Substitutes; 25 Kian Clarke (Gk), 9 Joe Doyle (for Shaw 62), 12 Dean O’Shea, 17 Luka Lovic (for Graydon, 75), 22 Steven Kinsella (for Craven, 75), 23 Glen Hollywood, 24 Cian Maher, 30 Jack Ross (gk).

Booked:  Aaron Barry (8), Darren Craven (68), Ryan Graydon (71), Barnett (72)

 Shelbourne: 1 Brendan Clarke; 16 John Ross Wilson, 3 Kevin O’Connor, 4 Ally Gilchrist, 23 Luke Byrne; 18 Dayle Rooney, 26 George Poynton, 6 JJ Lunney, 17 Shane Farrell, 10 Ryan Brennan; 9 Michael O’Connor.
Substitutes: 2 Michael Barker (for Farrell, 12), 14 Brian McManus (for Brennan, 80), 19 Sean Quinn, 20 Kyle O’Connor, 30 Alex Nolan, 7 Glen McAuley, 15 Maxim Kouogun, 21 Alex Cetiner, 25 Jack Brady (Gk).

Referee: Alan Patchell

Match Report: Michael Duffy

Pictures: Peter Minogue