World Cup Competition

The 2018 World Cup kicks off in Russia on Thursday 14th June 2018.

Bray Wanderers Seagulls Club World Cup 2018 competition is based on goals scored by each country in their matches at the World Cup 2018.

Some teams are given bonus goals to start off from. Bonus goals are based on the FIFA World rankings (as at 17th May 2018). The lower a team’s FIFA ranking the more goals they are given to start off from. The only exception to this is the host country Russia who has a low FIFA ranking as they have not played any qualifiers in the past two years.

This gives everyone a fair chance of winning even if they draw a weak team.

The team that ends up with the most goals in the competition will be deemed the winner.

For the competition team’s bonus goals are;
+6 Goals: Panama, Japan, Korea Republic, Saudi Arabia
+4 Goals; Iran, Australia, Morocco, Egypt, Nigeria
+3 goals; Serbia, Russia, Senegal.
+2 Goals; Iceland, Sweden, Costa Rica
+1 Goals; Poland, Peru, Denmark, England, Tunisa, Mexico, Colombia, Uruguay, Croatia.
0 Goals: Germany, Brazil, Spain, Belgium, Portugal, Argentina, Switzerland, France

1. Entry fee is €10 per entry.
2. The team that ends the competition with the most goals will be deemed the winner.
3. Winning person wins €160. If more than one winning team prize fund shared.
4. Goals scored in penalty shootouts are not counted as goals scored in a match
5. The draw for teams will take place on Sunday, 10th June 2018, in the Hibernia Inn, Bray at 9.30pm.
6. To enter the competition text World Cup 2018 and your name to 0879968969 before 9.00pm on Sunday 10th June. Payment can be made in the club shop at any upcoming home games. You can also enter in the club shop at the home game against St. Patrick’s Athletic on June 1st.
7. Committee Decision Final